Reading Disabilities

I was privileged enough to be able to watch and learn about early intervention reading during my first year practicum. I was really amazed at how much the students were benefiting from the concentrated time with a teacher and how much they knew about each student and their learning needs. I was able to see the advantages of the program as well as how much the students really love reading.

Personally, I believe reading is one of the most amazing gifts I have been given. I think it can open you up to situations, cultures, ideas, environments etc. that you would never imagined before. As a teacher, I hope to impart the passion and the inspiration I find in books to my students. Because I believe this, I want to make sure each student with challenges reading are able to work on their skills and feel successful as readers.

In class when we did the reading aloud activity (where some of us had the paper with how a student with a reading disability would see or read the words and some of us had the paper with “normal” words) I felt like I could better understand how someone with a reading disability feels. Professor Sandhu did a great job making me uncomfortable because I didn’t know what the words were and was panicking about the possibility of being called on. This made me think back to elementary school where teachers would have said things like that to my peers. I hope never to make my students feel the way I felt during that class. The activity was an especially pertinent tool for increasing my understanding of what’s it’s like to have a learning disability.

The PBS Parents website has a thorough section on learning disabilities and how to manage them. The following two links discuss the importance of reading and reading strategies for children. As I discussed before, I believe reading is imperative to a child’s success. Having resources on an accessible and well known website like PBS makes necessary information for parents and teachers readily available.

http://www.pbs.org/parents/education/learning-disabilities/types/reading/the-importance-of-reading/

http://www.pbs.org/parents/education/learning-disabilities/types/reading/reading-strategies/

Leave a Reply

